Board Minutes - 2024.01.08 Work Session


Independence Community School Board

Work Session

January 8, 2024


A work session for the Independence Community School Board started at 6:00 pm at the Administration Office,1207 1st St West, Independence, IA.  Board members attending:  Kim Hansen, Gina Trimble, Charlie McCardle, Audrey Hill and Mitch Barnett.  Also attending: Superintendent Phillips and Director of Finance Morine.  Matt Gillaspie with Piper Sandler joined via Zoom.

Matt Gillaspie reviewed with the Board the four primary funding sources for school infrastructure in Iowa, our current debt service schedule and a summary of property tax impact for patrons in the district.

The board did not go into exempt session to discuss negotiation strategies.

Work session ended at 8:30 pm


___________________________________              ___________________________________

Kim Hansen, President                                               Laura Morine, Board Secretary